“Perfect break.” | May 2017 | UK

We have just returned from an amazing week at Elounda Island Villas. Leda and Costas are brilliant hosts, we were welcomed like old friends and really felt at home from the moment we arrived. The apartment we stayed in was very comfortable and in keeping with the rural location. We were impressed with the ecological aspects of the villas, for example generating electricity from solar panels, using fans and fresh air instead of air conditioning.
Our apartment had a large verandah with a view over the sea and the town, a lovely place to sit over a drink in the evening and good for sunbathing.
There are lovely walks around the hillside and the walk into town for dinner in one of the many good restaurants takes about 15 minutes.
Leda’s breakfasts set us up well for the day, we particularly enjoyed yoghurt with the fabulous local honey – in fact we asked Leda to get us a bottle of honey to bring home – a taste of Crete on our breakfasts in Lancashire.
We loved our time at Elounda Island Villas and hope to be able to return soon.

0 Read More

“Great place to stay near Elounda” | Jul 2017 | Greece

There is no need to say much about how lovely the hotel is, this is evident from the photos on the hotel website. Even the beautiful views – day and night – can be gleaned from these photos. What really makes it though is the fact that the hotel sits all on its own, away from the village, but within easy walking distance from it. So, a gentle stroll takes you to restaurants, tavernas and bars, and a gentle stroll back ensures a peaceful night and morning.

The apartment kitchenettes are reasonably equipped, so breakfast or a light meal can be prepared there. However, if one is happy to splash out, breakfast at the hotel bar is a real treat. And though we were never there for lunch – too much else to see and do – we noticed that one simple dish was offered each day for those who chose to stick around.

Last but not least, Lida and Costas were happy to offer advice and suggestions on places to eat, the best beaches to swim and sites to see. Many thanks guys for a really great stay!

0 Read More

“Unique location with great views!” | Aug 2017 | Australia

We stayed in a traditional island villa with great views from the balcony. Peaceful location on the opposite side of the bay from where the village and all the action and noise is. The villa is fully equipped for a relaxed and comfortable stay. The cafe serves snacks and breakfast and Leda and Kostas are always helpful with where to go advice. You can swim at the bottom of the garden, or choose one of a number of spots around the bay reachable on foot or by car. We’ll be back!

0 Read More

“A place to relax…” | Sep 2017 | UK

The place is in a great location, overlooking the bay of Elounda. It’s around a 15 – 20 minute walk from civilization, along the shoreline and therefore making it perfect for that quiet getaway. The hosts, Costa and Lida were lovely; very warm and welcoming. They are on hand until 5pm every day to answer any questions you have, but live on site should you need help after this.

We happen to stay in two villas during our stay. Both were very pleasant, clean and had great views over the bay (as do most). The bed was particular large and comfy, although it could of done with new pillows perhaps? The kitchen was well equipped should you want to prepare light snacks etc.

The food served at breakfast/lunch (extra cost) was simple but amazing. Deliciously homemade, with fresh ingredients – the fruit, nut and yogurt mix being a particular favourite at breakfast, as well as the hot dish on offer daily. But saying this I can’t help but think the owners are missing a trick here – it would be a great spot for dinner and given the quality of the food on offer, a sure fire hit! I guess you can’t blame them for wanting the quiet life…

The nearest beach is a short 5 minute walk away. The waters in the surrounding areas are breathtakingly beautiful and clear, but the local beaches are disappointing in my opinion. Go for the snorkelling not for the sunbathing. On this note, it’s a shame that the underused tennis court isn’t converted in to a much needed swimming pool!

Taking everything in to account, I would wholeheartedly recommend the Elounda Island villas as a great place to stay, but perhaps hire a car and use it as a base to explore the surrounding area.

Kanali (5 mins walk), Lotus Eaters and Ferryman were by far the best restaurants in the area. But you’ll need to book to get the best tables most nights. The mountain goat at the Ferryman was amazing, while the salt baked fish at Kanali is a real spectacle.

0 Read More

“Lovely small hotel with exceptional staff” | Sep 2017 | Switzerland

We spent 5 days at Elounda Island Villas and loved every minute of it… it is definitely not for everyone but if you do your research and are looking for clean, quiet, no-frills accommodation and be treated like family, this is your place… if you are looking for the comforts of cookie-cutter hotels (Marriotts and Hiltons of the world, this most likely is not for you…)…

We loved all the meals we were served in the art Cafe attached to the hotel (great breakfast and the home-cooked meals are really delicious!)…

Our villa was well appointed and remained fresh, the bed was adequate and they provided extra thin pillows when I mentioned it… no issues with cleaning either… even the wifi worked quite well…

It was really amazing to have 2 great beaches within walking distance of the property… The rocks beach (5 minute walk) is simply stunning…

Overall this is a great little place to stay and super value for money… Lida, Kostas and their team made us feel truly welcome and left rested and relaxed…

0 Read More

“A wonderful place to stay” | Oct 2017 | UK

A beautifully situated and designed set of Villas, each one different from the next but all with breathtaking views over the sea towards Elounda village. Accessed via a causeway, Elounda Island is rugged and tranquil, with spectacular scenery all around,
There were 100 steps from our Villa to the little beach in front of the complex, and another five beaches within easy walking distance; each one different from the other, but all offering their own delights.
This is a family run business where nothing is too much trouble. The Villas are traditional in style, and one can open the windows and hear the sounds of Crete without being closed in because of air-conditioning.
The Taverna serves delicious, snacks, ice creams, and a traditional dish of the day which is always made from fresh ingredients and cooked to perfection.
If you want a truly relaxing holiday, with loads of things to do and see close by The Elounda Island Villas are a perfect place to stay.

0 Read More

“Lived up to all the positive reviews” | Oct 2017 | France

We arrived late – in fact a day late due to missing a flight but were still received warmly and found our apartment with some tzasaki, olives and cheese waiting for us for us. A lovely quite spot on the Island – which is really a peninsula. The apartments are simply but tastefully furnished and comfortably. The complex is totally self sufficient on solar power, water and makes a real effort to remain Eco conscious – however, the power is constant and everything works very smoothly.
Simple home made breakfasts and lunches are available (although the apartments do how equipped kitchens) in the cafe overlooking the sea. There is a very nice atmosphere and Leda and her staff provide helpful information about the beaches, the walks, the restaurants etc.. The massage therapist was also excellent – therapeutic massage, not a spa type relaxation one.
I loved the place and would happily go back as it fitted my desire for quite, off the beaten track – however we were there at the end of season so in high season the area probably get very busy and more interesting for those looking for more night life on the mainland.

0 Read More

“Tranquil holiday in paradise! A real Cretan experience in rustic accommodation next to clear blue sea.” | Aug 2015 | Cornwall

A special family holiday for six adults looking for the real Crete. This place is truly rustic, including the option to eat Cretan homemade food at the Taverna or cook your own meals in the apartments. We could see the lively village of Elounda from our apartments, especially at night but experienced the peace of Elounda Island except of the sounds of nature (cicadas, fish jumping!!) and the sea gently lapping at the shore, which was right in front of our windows! Perfect! The youngsters in our party walked to the village every night for a choice of restaurants, bars and shops, it only took them about 15 mins (us older ones a wee bit longer) to get there. The walk is very pleasant and we chose to walk but taxis are always available at €5 one way. We hired a small minivan during the week to travel up to Knossas and also back to the airport (a Heraklion taxi company let us down on arrival so we sorted own transport for return journey). Don’t worry about booking hire vehicles before the trip because the two companies in Elounda are very competitive and will source whatever you need at a price that you are happy with. We also booked scuba diving from the Aquilla Hotel. We can’t praise them enough. They are PADI registered, super safety conscious and first priority is customer service. It’s best to phone them direct and numbers are on their website. Commission is about 10% if you book through an agent if savings pennies is a priority for you. The restaurants all down on the front are fabulous and I think we tried most of them. There is a fish restaurant on the island which has got to be a special treat before you leave your resort. Food fresh and delicious, waiter service impressive and entertaining when they fillet the cooked fish at the table. Take your camera there! You can easily get a bus to Ag Nik, the nearest big port and I think it was about €3 return. It’s not far and the buses are clean, spacious and on time. I had an accident on the boat that does the evening cruises around the bay. They are not particularly safety conscious and I would advise that you make sure you wear sturdy shoes for the slippery deck, make sure you note where the open gangways are (so you don’t slide out when the boat rocks) and check the depth of the water yourself before jumping off the top deck for a swim. I think the hostess got mixed up between feet and metres. Many swimmers landed on the ocean bed thinking it was deep and jarred their legs and backs. The General Hospital in Ag Nik is brilliant, use your EHIC card if you need assistance there. No need to use your travel ins if they can sort you out. The travel ins assistance was nowhere near as good, so disorganised and you have to go to Heraklion for help. The owners and staff at the apartments were wonderful when they realised I was injured and found a way to get me back in the sea which really made the holiday for me. The rest of the family had a fantastic time but agree that it was far too short. We all think longingly for our seaside villas. We may just return one day.

Room Tip: The two bedroom accommodation is suited to families with children as rooms are open-plan. The two be…
0 Read More

“A cozy and charming place for a wonderful vacation in Crete!” | Aug 2015 | Spain

We were looking for a quiet place in Crete and we found some place really special.
The location is amazing! the views from the bedroom, the restaurant…just great! Calm and very cozy! The owner and people working there are so nice! We got many recomendations from them of things to do, places to visit, restaurants to go…everything to make our stay very comfortable and get the best from Crete…thank you! We would love to come back

  • Stayed August 2015, travelled with family
0 Read More

“A magical place” | Sept 2015 | New Zealand

The Elounda Island Villas where everything we were looking for and more. A quiet rustic Greek experience on paradise. All our expectations were exceeded. Lida and her staff were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
The little beach across the road is the best kept secret! The accomodation units were simple, very traditional and rustic but perfect in every way. The food in the taverna was delicious. We highly recommend this place – we will be back!

Room Tip: The cooking facilities are limited.
0 Read More

See more reviews about
Elounda Island Villas
at Trip Advisor